On not being wasteful

Standard

So, I said my resolution was to not be wasteful. Here’s what I’m including:

-Not wasting my resources (natural and otherwise). This includes things like not running the water when I don’t need to, recycling, re-using paper when printing class notes, not wasting food (i.e. actually eating my leftovers, making less coffee in the morning so I don’t throw a lot of it away), utilizing the free state-of-the-art workout facilities that are available to me, not spending money on things I don’t need, and actually talking to professors when I need help.

-Not wasting my time. This means not procrastinating, not spending time worrying about things that are out of my hands, not spending time on things that frustrate me, not dawdling in the morning (for example, not spending 20 minutes on the computer in the morning instead of getting ready and eating a healthy breakfast), and in general just being more aware of how I spend my time during the day.

-Not wasting my breath. This one can sound kind of harsh, but it’s really the only way to put it. I’m not wasting my breath saying things that I shouldn’t say. I really don’t like that I gossip so much, I really don’t like that I swear a lot when I get upset, and I really don’t like how much I complain/whine about things going wrong in my life. So, I’m not going to waste my breath on them anymore.

-And lastly…Not wasting my relationships. I know that first semester, I really let some of my relationships fall to the wayside. It sucked a lot, and I don’t like that I totally isolated myself from a lot of people. So, I’m going to try really hard not to do that this year. I don’t want to let those friendships fall apart.

So, speaking of not wasting time, I’m going to go finish a speech report and write some thank you notes. Good luck with picking a theme for this year, Erica. I have to say, I’ve been looking forward to seeing what it is. 🙂

2 responses »

  1. One word hit me as I read your post: “Convicted”

    These are good things for me to keep in mind as well (though I too am not in the habit of making resolutions).

Leave a Reply

