Make new friends, but keep the old

Standard

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about how we make friends. It seems strange to me to think about this, but it’s been on my mind a lot.

At 22, I have Paul, my best friend, but who lives in Chicago. I have my 3 closest friends from home. One of them is still in Rock Island, one is in Peoria, and the other is clear across the country in San Francisco (Come home, Amelia!). I have 3 or 4 close friends from school. One is in Chicago, another is moving up there in a month, and the others will (thankfully) still be here next year. Aside from those 7 or 8 people, I have other friends, but I’m just not as close with them. I talk with them, sometimes share important parts of my life, but for the most part, we’re classmates, and rarely do I hang out with them after that bell rings. It’s not that I don’t like them. I like all the girls in my department. It’s just that I don’t have a whole lot in common with any of them outside of the classroom, with 1 or 2 exceptions.

So, at 22, how am I supposed to make new friends? How do you ask someone to be your friend?

“Hey ______. Will you be my friend?”

Awwwkward. It’s like trying to ask a prospective boyfriend on a first date. It’s a very quasars-esque situation. And so this is my dilemma: next month, when most of the people I know graduate and leave me, how the heck am I supposed to make new friends? I didn’t go to Marquette this year primarily so I could avoid this particular problem, and now I’m being faced with it, and it scares me.

One response »

Leave a Reply

