Standard

I may have some really terrific news either tomorrow or Tuesday. I’ve told several people, but part of me is terrified that I’m jinxing it. So, until then, you’ll all just have to wait in suspense.

I went to confession with Fr. Luke for the first time on Saturday evening. It always scares me a little to confess to a new priest. Will he have angry-looking bushy eyebrows like Fr. Schroeder? Is he going to give me a long talk like Fr. Adolph? Will he tell me exactly what I need to hear like Msgr. Swetland always did? Will he give me extensive penance? Will I have an awkward almost-hug moment like with Msgr. Hallin (long story…)? But I went. And it was good. It was a very peaceful confession, and I really enjoyed hearing what Fr. Luke had to say (that’s not to say I don’t enjoy what every priest has to say). He just said what I needed to hear, in a way that I could really hear it. And the penance was really unusual…but incredibly fruitful.

I took a big step this weekend…. I got contacts on Friday! I’ve had glasses for…ten years (?), and I’ve never worn contacts. I’m still getting used to them. Today was the first day that I was able to put both of them in on the first try (the left one tends to fall onto the counter a lot), and take them out on the first try (I get scared that I won’t be able to get them out). Anyway, they’re nice. I like them, but I don’t think I’ll wear them every day. After about 5 hours, I’m ready to take them out and put glasses on…this is partly because I’m afraid of them drying out and popping out of my eyes. I’m insane, what can I say?

I’m also trying a new food this week. Tofu Shirataki noodles. Hungry Girl recommends them, both on the site and in the book, so I thought I’d give it a go. 20 calories, no fat, and 2g fiber?! Heck yes. I’ll let you know how it turns out. Tomorrow night I think is going to be the noodles in an “alfredo” sauce. We’ll see.

3 responses »

  1. Hmmm it’s in the Paul category and it’s a surprise…laaaadiiiiidaaaaaa. Hmm. πŸ˜‰

    Do you recommend the Hungry Girl cookbook?

  2. Exciting πŸ™‚

    So I wanted to see how your contacts looked, but I’m pretty sure you were wearing them today and I was way too intent on my client to even notice. Sorry!

    Have to see ’em tomorrow πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

