Adventures in the Kitchen

Standard

Lots of fun kitchen stories from the past 24 hours…not all of them culinary:

Last Night (Culinary): I made some dip to go with my veggies for today. Fat free Feta cheese with fat free sour cream, some black pepper, and some garlic salt. Not too bad. Would’ve preferred garlic powder to the garlic salt, but I made do with what I had. (I bought garlic powder today…we’ll hope it turns out better next time.)

This Morning (Culinary): Mixed some whole wheat couscous with 3/4 of a chopped apple, some cinnamon, a packet of Splenda, and a splash of milk. Microwaved for 2 minutes. New favorite breakfast.

This Morning (Non-culinary): Last night, I noticed a ginormous fly buzzing around our apartment. The stupid thing never landed anywere, so I resorted to just waving a magazine around frantically trying to hit it. Didn’t work. This morning, I saw it again and after an hour or so of trying to smack it against the wall or whatever it happened to land on, I gave up, deciding that the fly must be pretty smart, because it seemed to lure me over to the windows, getting my hopes up that I would finally get it, and then it would make it’s escape and fly off again. So, I’ve been on a kick lately of washing my dishes immediately after using them, rather than doing it all at the end of the day. Well, last night Lynn made fish in a baking dish and rather than washing it right away, I put it in the sink to soak overnight. After finishing my new favorite breakfast, I walked to the sink to wash my dishes, and what do I see, floating in the baking dish? Mr. Fly. Dead. HA! Survival of the fittest, Mr. Fly. Survival of the fittest.

This Evening (Culinary): Paul and I are going out to Monticello to watch the fireworks tonight. So, I volunteered to make dinner. I made a pasta salad. Asparagus, cherry tomatoes, whole wheat rotini, olive oil, balsamic vinegar, and a little bit of fat free mozzarella. I can’t wait. And, since I aspire to be a food blogger, here’s a picture of it in all it’s delicious glory:

Elena, I’m sure Adam could do it more justice. I’ll have to brush up on my photography skills…and actually read the manual for my camera. It has lots of fancy buttons and settings that I’m sure would make things better.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

