Internship, Week 1: The Need for Cootie Shots

Standard

Started at my school internship Monday. I’m in a Pre-K program out in the sticks. Despite the special education program from ~1953, I love it. The kids are amazing. I love them all so much. Every time I pick a “favorite” (which I know I shouldn’t do), someone else becomes my favorite. They’re all the cutest, smartest, most fun, etc. I love working with them, and I just want to steal them all and bring them home with me. One of them told me he loves me. I almost cried. And I love being able to encourage them, and build them up, and give them some MUCH needed praise and affection. We have one child with Autism, and he is incredible. They just started him on PECS about 6 weeks ago, and he’s SO good with it. And he took to me right away, and doesn’t hesitate to interact with me. Needless to say, it’s so rewarding being there.Ā 

On an unfortunate note, I woke up sick yesterday. All those kids put their fingers in their mouths and noses and then on the tables, the materials, and on me. And no amount of hand sanitizer can prevent the inevitable cold. At least it’s only a cold. And I have the next week off, so I’m sure I’ll get over it quickly.Ā 

I’m pretty sure I’ll miss working with Pre-K next year, but that’s okay. Maybe I’ll be able to sneak over to the Pre-K program in Prospect Heights… šŸ™‚ Right now, I’m just enjoying being able to make an impact on these kids’ lives, even if it is a small one.

One response »

  1. Aww it makes me happy for both me and you that you’re having a positive experience (other than the illness). I need something to look forward to. I put an early childhood center (2-kindergarten?) as my top preference. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

