Livin’ on a Prayer

Standard

I had to come down to C-U yesterday for close-out meetings with my department, so I decided to drop in to see Sr. Sarah while I was here, to see if I could schedule a much-needed SD session. It was wonderful to catch up with her, as I haven’t seen her or chatted with her since May. And, inevitably (as I expected it would), my prayer life (or lack thereof) came into the conversation.

“So how has prayer been?”

(silence…head shake)

We talked about it for a bit. And now I’ve been thinking about it ever since. Why is prayer so hard for me? Why am I so unable to make it a priority in my life. I popped up to the chapel to spend some time in prayer after talking with Sr., and I think I came up with a partial answer. While I know in my head and in my heart that God is always present, I don’t always acknowledge it and give Him the proper attention because it’s not a tangible presence (an arguable statement, I know). It’s easy for me to give my time and attention to things I can see and touch (friends, family, work, etc.), and it’s easy for me to not give my attention to things I can’t see and touch (God). I guess an easier way to say it is that I take God’s presence (and my relationship with Him) for granted. I know that I don’t hold up my end of things, and I would like to change that.

So here is my petition to prayerful readers: How do you spend time with God every day? How do you pray? How do you make sure that you do pray every day?

Leave a Reply

