Work-out Wednesday: Motivation?

Standard

Okay, I really need some help here. I’m struggling with the whole exercise thing.

Here’s the situation: I can’t work out in the mornings, because the fitness room doesn’t open until 6 (7 on some days), and by that time, I have to be up and showered already. And when I get home in the afternoons, I’m completely wiped out, and can’t even force myself to walk across the street to do a quick jog on the treadmill. The weather doesn’t help, as I can’t run outside in the cold (it hurts my lungs), and it’s also pretty much dark by the time I’m home.

I’ve considered joining a gym, just so I feel like I have to go because I’m paying for it. Plus, that way I could throw my work out clothes in the car when I leave for work, and then just drive to the gym right after I get off, so that I don’t have an opportunity to go home and sink into the couch. The only issue with this is that I don’t want to waste my money on a gym membership when I have a free fitness room right across the street.

So, my question for you, dear readers, is this: How do you get yourself motivated/stay motivated to work out? Because I really need some help here. And just to preface your comments/suggestions: Listening to music doesn’t motivate me. Watching TV would be okay, but the sound is always turned off on the sets in our fitness room and I can’t see well enough to read the captions. I can’t read and jog at the same time. So, if you have more suggestions, I would LOVE to hear them.

One response »

  1. I’m already wondering how I’m going to handle this when I’m back with the ‘rents in March (probably will have to join a gym…I just typed jim…how horrifying). I guess I’d say that if it’s the only way you’ll get motivated: join the gym. I’ve only ever belonged to “Curves” (Senior year of high school), but I used that membership, partly out of guilt. I usually went straight from work, changed there, just got it done. Wasn’t the worst situation.

    I’m purely a TV person, excluding the rare times I run outside (then it’s “Eye of the Tiger” all the way ha). I know the screen’s small, but even having a nano I’ve watched TV shows/movies on my iPod before while running (propping it on the treadmill if possible or just holding it). Might not be feasible, but to me it’s better than reading captions of something I don’t really want to be watching. Right now I’m on a “Brothers & Sisters” kick, but I’m actually behind on a whole lot of TV. $30 in iTunes gift cards for Christmas definitely is helping me stay motivated right now! But, yes, I have the rockin’, iPod compatible ARC. Soon…not so much (then I’ll be holdin’ the iPod).

    Sorry I don’t have any revolutionary ideas. My motivation is mostly fitting into the clothes I have/future dream purchases, looking good for myself and Adam (even though he loves me as I am etc etc etc ;-D) and wanting to feel more confident. And living for as long as possible haha. I put “going to the gym” as my facebook status fairly often because, well, then I’ll do it. Can’t lie to my public 😉

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

