Work-out Wednesday: Baby Steps

Standard

Okay, so I got back on the wagon this week. I ran Monday night, and I ran tonight, too. It’s slow going right now. I’ve never been a fast runner, but I definitely had to cut my pace a lot this week. (Correction: I just checked my Nike+ data, and apparently it only took me 4 minutes more than it used to to run a 5k….okay, maybe that is quite a bit slower….) The good news is that I managed to keep quite a bit of my stamina. I’m able to go for about 15 minutes without needing to walk. I was at about 20 before I took my break. My big issue with running on the treadmill is that I can’t easily vary my rate when I need to. I hate pushing the “speed up/down” buttons until I feel comfortable. Oh, I can’t wait for warm weather and running outside.

Anyway, the point is, I’m back on track. My legs ache, but it’s a good ache…an ache I’ve missed. I wish I could say that I’m way more energetic, and more excited to work out. But, I’m not. I hate working out and running. I probably always will. But I at least feel a little better about myself knowing that I came home from work today, and instead of sitting on my couch stuffing my face, I took a quick break, then went to the gym and burned 300 calories.

One response »

  1. Yay! Go you šŸ™‚

    I’m a big fan of starting slow on the treadmill (like 5.7), slowly working my way up to 7mph (very briefly), and then goin’ back down. Or running a mile as fast as I can (starting at 6.5 and going up and up) and then walkin’ a lot. Very mood dependent. Have heard that sprinting during commercials can be good haha…may try that tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

