Thankful Thursday: Employ’d

Standard

I was thinking about it today at work, and 1 year ago this weekend, I was in the ‘burbs for ISHA and for my first job interview (for the job I didn’t get). Just a few short weeks later, I interviewed for my job. And at the time, I thought “Hmm…middle school. Yeah, I don’t know about it, but heck, I can do anything for 9 months.” “Lucked out” does not even begin to cover it. I’m so thankful for this job, not only because it’s a job, but also because of the staff, the students, the atmosphere, everything. It really has been an ideal first job. It’s been a learning experience for sure. Not a week goes by when I don’t have something new come up. But it’s also given me a chance to work with an entirely new population, develop my clinical skills, put myself out there as a resource to other teachers, and just grow as a professional. I hope with all my heart that I get to stay there next year.

Leave a Reply

