FFF: Recent Additions: A preview

Standard

Pictures will be returning soon, I promise. I’ve recently acquired some new fun things that make me feel a bit more fashion forward. So, for your reading/viewing pleasure, I give you a preview:

I went to the mall this afternoon after work. Picked up a couple of button-downs at NY & Company (black and white striped, plain white, and blue floral–which I actually bought last weekend…sshhh). At $14.95, I figured it was a steal, especially since I have such issues finding button-down shirts that fit me well. Plus, I splashed some tomato soup on my nice white button-down last week. It did not come out with the use of a Tide-To-Go pen and a wash. Sooo that one is now for use UNDER things. Bummer. I also picked up a pretty blue and grey bracelet and a new pair of yellow and grey earrings (pictures not online). And last weekend, I bought this tunic (in grey) on super clearance. I’ve been stalking it since it first came out. Glad I waited!

After NY & Company, I went to The Limited to try and use some coupons. Didn’t end up using the coupons, but I did get this gorgeous shirt-dress in teal and this belt, which I fell in love with. I tried on tons of skirts, most of which just didn’t work. They were cut funny and sat awkwardly on my hips and thighs. Or, they hugged my thighs too much and made me look more like a pear than I care to look. This one was a particularly big disappointment, considering how long I’ve been wanting it. I really did like this skirt, and I’m still thinking about it. I just didn’t think I could wear it to work. A little too funky? Thoughts? It fit so well, and looked really pretty. But, I just couldn’t do it today.

I’ve been trying to find a pair of flat boots ever since early fall. Every pair I tried either didn’t fit right, didn’t look right, or was too expensive. I really love the cognac boots I have, as well as the brown booties. But I really wanted a pair of black or grey flat boots. So, I spent a long time searching online Wednesday night, and ended up finding these, at CharlotteRusse.com: simple, cute, and cheap. So, I ordered them. They weren’t supposed to get here until next week. They got here this afternoon! I’m so happy! I plan on wearing them this weekend to Paul’s cousin’s baby shower. Perhaps with the new teal dress. Or maybe that black skirt I haven’t worn yet. They aren’t particularly comfortable, but it might have been due to the fact that I was wearing heels all day, and then slipped into flats and it felt strange. I’m sure they’ll be fine, though. I was also wearing thick socks, which probably didn’t help either.

And finally…as my reward for finally getting my lazy butt in gear, Paul was going to buy me the city garden cardigan from anthropologie. So, we went last weekend, and I tried it on, and I fussed with it for a while, arranging it and rearranging it…over and over. And, true to the reviews, it just didn’t work for me. Maybe if I was taller, and a little thinner (particularly in the hip/thigh area, where the bulk of the material hits), it might work. But it just didn’t do anything for me. The back hit right above my butt, too, which didn’t help anything. Luckily, I had brought a few other things into the dressing room with me, and I ended up bringing the dark navy all seasons shirt-dress home with me. Ohhh love. I can’t wait to wear it. I’m not so sure about the “all seasons” part. I’m trying to decide if I’m brave enough to wear it with some tights and boots with a cardigan. Thoughts?

So, there you have it. Fun, pretty things. Hopefully pictures soon!

3 responses »

  1. Especially love the new boots and the shirtdress from Anthro! Sounds like some very successful shopping 🙂

  2. Pingback: FFF: About Time « Fear Only Keeps Me Back

Leave a Reply

