Thankful Thursday: A Good Read

Standard

This week, I’m thankful for book recommendations (and the friends who do the recommending).

I’ve been stuck (for lack of a better word) reading chick lit lately, which is always enjoyable. I use reading as a way to unwind and clear my mind at the end of the day. So, mindless reading is always a plus. I’ve been immersing myself in authors like Meg Cabot and Nicholas Sparks, both of whom are wonderful writers, but their books are pretty easy reads.

Last week, a friend recommended I read books by the author Paulo Coelho. And so over the weekend, while I was staring at books at Target (contemplating which Nicholas Sparks easy-read to buy next), I happened to see The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho. Hmm. So, I picked it up and decided to give it a shot.

Honestly, it’s one of the best books I’ve ever read. It’s an engaging story, and it’s beautifully written. There’s a lot of spirituality and religion to it as well, which, apparently, I really needed. Simply put, I felt at peace after reading the book.

So, please do yourselves a favor and read this beautiful novel. An added bonus: it’s on the “Buy One, Get one 50% Off” table at Borders right now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

