SSS: Miss-fire

Standard

Well, because it was spring break, and I had time on my hands, I decided to try out a new slow-cooker recipe. I’ve been a big fan of Stephanie O’Dea’s slow cooker blog for a while now, but had yet to try out any of the recipes. So, I decided to start with Mediterranean Chicken. I’m not a huge fan of green olives, but I know Paul is. Likewise, he’s not the biggest  fan of artichoke hearts, but I am. Neither of us had ever tried quinoa before, so I decided I’d give it a shot, too. Heck, I’m always up for food adventures. And slap the words “Slow Cooker” on anything, and I’ll try it out.

Verdict: It was just okay. The flavors were great. I really liked the green olives, much to my surprise. And they held up well in the slow cooker, too. The artichoke hearts, however, were complete mush when it came time to serve. Kinda gross. And a big bummer for me. And the quinoa…not our favorite. We both would have preferred couscous. Next time (because I do like this dish, and would like to try it again), I think I’ll throw in the artichoke hearts with maybe an hour or so left in cooking time. And we’ll definitely be using couscous or some whole wheat pasta in place of the quinoa. But as for now, I have 2 servings of this dish leftover in the fridge, and I fear they’re going to go to waste. Maybe I’ll suck it up and eat one of them tonight.

Now…anyone know what I can do with half a box of quinoa?

2 responses »

  1. I’ve had a pretty good tabbouleh made with quinoa, and if you grind it up it makes a good thickener for soups. though with the weather like it is, soup doesn’t sound that appetizing. I’m more in the mood for picnic foods! if you didn’t like the texture, then I’d suggest grinding it up and using the flour for something because there’s really no way around that.

    • Hmm. I do like tabbouleh. Paul might. I don’t remember. It’s not so much the texture that we didn’t like…it’s the taste (or lack of taste, rather). I’ll probably end up giving the leftovers to my sister-in-law. Haha. But thanks for the suggestions!

Leave a Reply

