Work-out Wednesday: Back on track

Standard

Hey, friends. Sorry for the absence. Haven’t had much worth posting lately.

So, if you are a teacher, know a teacher, or read Elena’s blog, you’ll no doubt know that this week has been Teacher Appreciation Week. Our PTO, administration office, building office, Student Senate, and Sunshine Club have combined forces to thwart all my weight loss efforts. My will power is always weak, but when they bring in DQ blizzards (HELLOOOO Chocolate Xtreme!), movie theater-size boxes of candy (RAISINETS!), cupcakes, pizza, chocolate muffins the size of your head, mostaccioli, and plenty of other treats, it just disappears. I’ve been falling into bad habits again, where I just eat without thinking, until I’m full beyond any semblance of “comfortable.” So, I’ve been trying to offset the effects of the fattening foods by running the past couple of days.

As you may (or may not) recall, I started the Couch to 5k a month ago (yeah, didn’t realize that it was a month ago…). I did the first week, and then dropped off, sticking with weight and toning exercises instead. I picked up with week 2 yesterday, and was happy that it was relatively easy. It’s a long shot, but I’m going to try my hand at the Bix again this year. I “ran” it 5 years ago, but want to try actually running it again this summer. It’s nice to have a goal in mind. And I’m feeling rather inspired lately, after watching several of my friends run a half marathon this past weekend, and watching my brother complete his THIRD marathon. Words cannot describe how proud I am of him (and of everyone who ran the half). Thanks for being an inspiration, friends!

One final question: I’m SUUUUPER bored with my music. What’s on your running playlist? What keeps you going and energized?

One response »

Leave a comment