SSS Returns, now with more calories!

Standard

Hello, dear readers. So sorry for the months-long hiatus from the regular posts. I’m not promising that they’re back with any regularity, but I’ll give it a shot.

Let’s start this one off with a riddle. What do you get when you cross chocolate chip cookie dough:

with chocolate brownies?

The answer:

Chocolate chip brownie pillow cookies

It's like a turducken made of delicious chocolate baked goods!

A friend of mine sent me a link to something on Bakerella, and after perusing the site a bit, I stumbled across this recipe and immediately new I had to make it. The timing was perfect: we were going to a barbecue for Paul’s cousin’s birthday this weekend, so I had a test audience. So I woke up at 8:00 Saturday morning to go to Jewel to gather my ingredients. I baked from 9:00 until 1:00 and managed to yield 15 whole cookies from the recipe (the recipe is supposed to yield 10 cookies, but I skimped a little bit, knowing I had more than 10 people to feed).

The cookies were a hit at the barbecue, though I felt they were a little dry. I think it was mostly due to the brownies. Next time I make these (and there will be a next time, I’m sure), I will splurge the extra dollar to buy name-brand brownie mix, not store brand.

If you have a party coming up and want to impress people, if you want to tell that special someone that you love him/her with delicious bakery treats, or if you just feel like not fitting into your pants any time soon, I highly recommend making these cookies.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

