SSS: Breakfast time

Standard

I did some more baking this week. Paul had a rough day on Thursday (woke up on the wrong side of the bed–I’ve definitely been there before), so I made him some brownies to help cheer him up. I’m a big big fan of No Pudge! brownies. If you’ve never tried them, you absolutely have to. They’re fat free and 120 calories/brownie (low points, if you’re a counter!). I love gooey, chewy brownies, and these have the perfect texture. I’ve only ever tried the original variety (as that’s all that’s available in my grocery stores), but am super intrigued by the other flavors (cappuccino, mint, and raspberry). I’ve made a brownie ice cream cake with them in the past, which was fabulous as well. (Oh, and they’re not too bad microwaved and topped with some Skinny Cow ice cream, either….)

Anyway, the brownies aren’t the point to this entry–I just had to sing the praises of No Pudge! brownies. LOVE. Onward.

Paul also had a job interview last week on Friday morning. I wanted to make sure he had a good start to his day, so I hauled my usually-sleeps-until-10:00 butt out of bed at 6am and made him breakfast (see how much I love him?). I had found a recipe for Blueberry Breakfast Tops on the Weight Watchers site last week and had intended to make it when my friend Erin was visiting, but we went to Richard Walker’s instead…. So I made it for Paul Friday morning.

Blueberry Breakfast Tops

The recipe claims that the “top” is like a cross between a muffin and a scone. I’d say that’s a decent description. It calls for a fair amount of cornmeal, which gives the final product a cornbread-ish texture as well. They’re best when they come straight out of the oven, though they fit quite nicely in the toaster for reheating. The verdict: delicious! Paul really enjoyed them (and so do I). I’m excited to make them again, using different berries. Paul suggested cherries (maraschino, actually…which I quickly poo-pooed, suggesting a less candy-like cherry…) and also a sweeter batter. I personally didn’t think the batter wasn’t sweet enough. There’s only a bit of sugar, but a pretty good amount of honey. I was satisfied with the level of sweetness.

We’ve been eating the leftovers all weekend, and only today did we really encounter an issue with them. While the serving size is 1 top, that’s not quite enough to fill you up for a substantial amount of time. I had one paired with a bowl of honeydew melon and was hungry again only an hour and a half later (a good breakfast will usually last me 3-4 hours before I need a snack). Oh well. They’re good for a grab-and-go kind of breakfast, which I’m sure will come in handy on mornings when I’m running late for work and have to eat in the car.

Next week’s post might actually feature a main dish, so watch out! I got a panini/grill pan for my birthday, and plan on using it to make kebabs tomorrow night. I also have a pasta dish on the menu, as well as homemade mac & cheese, so the possibilities for next week’s entry are endless! 🙂 Stay tuned.

One response »

  1. Oooh very yummy 🙂 Will have to check out the no pudge brownies. I maaaaaay make myself get up (on my first day “off”, no less) to make Adam something on his first day of his new rotation tomorrow. You have increased my motivation!

Leave a Reply

