SSS: Between Leftovers

Standard

This was, indeed, a leftover week. Remember that pasta I made last week? We ate that almost every single night. And I ate leftover mac & cheese for lunches/dinners all week, too. I did get creative with breakfast, though:

Egg white omelet with Canadian bacon and Fuji apples. I originally found this recipe in a Pillsbury cookbook from the Target dollar section. I modified it a little bit. I screwed it up a bit the first time I made it (that’ll happen when you make breakfast before having coffee…). The second time, it turned out much better (and I made it with egg substitute):

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 Fuji apple, thinly sliced
  • 2 slices of Canadian bacon, cut into thin strips
  • 3 eggs/egg whites, lightly beaten (or 1/2 cup of egg substitute)
  • 1 tsp maple syrup (I used sugar free)

Cook the apple slices in a small fry pan (I used an 8 inch omelet pan) for ~5 minutes, until they’ve softened. Add Canadian bacon and cook for another minute or two. Remove apples and bacon from the pan; put in a bowl and mix in the syrup. In the omelet pan, melt a bit of (light) butter. Pour your eggs in and cook as you would an omelet, pulling up the edges so that the liquid can fall to the bottom of the pan. Cover and cook until set, ~3 minutes. Once set, add half of the apple mixture to half of the omelet. Fold over the other half of the omelet and let cook for another minute or two. Plate your omelet and top with the rest of your apples and Canadian bacon. Enjoy!

I also used my new All Clad panini press/grill pan to make a panini with the same basic idea today: light bread, Laughing Cow Light Swiss Cheese, fat free cheddar, Canadian bacon, and Fuji apple. It was fabulous. Totally guilt free, but didn’t taste like it! I’ll miss having all this free time to make delicious breakfasts and lunches…. : (

Leave a Reply

