Oh Self

Standard

I was feeling rather down today. Actually, I have been all week. It’s been a very frumpy week. I think it’s mostly just to do with all the eating that took place last week. And a discussion with Paul about my self-esteem didn’t help so much…. But I still hate having weeks like this. It’s also hard on my wallet, as I tend to get very frustrated with everything in my wardrobe, causing me to go out and purchase new things to make me happy. Good golly, I’m a mess. Luckily, this week I restricted my shopping to a $3 long-sleeved thermal t-shirt and a $12 pair of brown flats (which I actually have needed for about 2 years now). I was sorely tempted to buy a wrap-front sweater dress yesterday, but resisted…realizing that the only reason I was going to buy it was because I didn’t like anything in my closet. (Flashback to the time I went shopping with Erica so I could find something to wear to practicum the next day…)

Most of my problem is that I stand in my closet every night/morning and look at something and think, “There’s no way that’ll fit.” So this evening, I made it a point to try on several things I was worried about. And, to my surprise, not only did they fit, but they fit better than they have in the past few weeks. Just what I needed. Self-esteem: not fixed, but bandaged temporarily.

3 responses »

  1. That is a waaaaay less dangerous splurge than I tend to have! I applaud you.

    I hope the bandage holds—I know it doesn’t always help to hear from other people, but you are such a slender, petite person! I’m glad the clothes confirmed this ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Can I echo Elena’s sentiments? I think you are a very petite, beautiful lady!

    I’m sorry to hear you’re having these fights with your self-esteem. You can always call/email me if you need to vent. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Love you, Raisinet.

Leave a Reply

