Thanks, Joan Benoit Samuelson!

Standard

Hurrah! I logged my fastest mile today (beating my old time by a whopping 3 seconds), and I was congratulated by Joan Benoit Samuelson. Oh Nike+, I missed you and your motivational messages while you were gone!

I started week 4 of Couch 2 5k today. I was a little nervous. I’m quickly approaching the point at which I called it quits over the summer…the point where I just decided I was bored and didn’t feel like running anymore. I have goals in mind, though (the 5k on the morning of Erin’s wedding being the nearest), and I plan to buy some new running shoes over break next week (which will be expensive…hopefully encouraging me to actually use them…).

I am a little nervous about transferring from the treadmill to the pavement, though. We’ll see how it goes. No plans to do that anytime soon. Maybe early next month.

2 responses »

  1. Running outside feels so much better than the treadmill! Just think- a change of scenery! And if you don’t want to drop a bunch on new running shoes, you should probably just get the silver sparkly slip-ons you texted me 🙂

    • Yeah, I am excited for the change of scenery. I’m just worried that my endurance/speed will decrease. And methinks those sparkly slip-ons would increase the severity of my shin splints….

Leave a Reply

