Milestone Week

Standard

This was a pretty good week in terms of workouts (not quantity, but quality). I only made it to the gym 3 times this week. My parents were visiting yesterday, and I won’t make it tomorrow since I’m going home for the weekend.

Monday was my first day back to the gym in over a week and a half (I had no car over my spring break, which means I didn’t get to the gym). I was anticipating having a rough run, but in fact, I took 20 seconds off of my fastest mile (thanks for letting me know, Tiger Woods!).

Tuesday’s workout was the last workout I attempted before quitting C25k last summer. It said to run 8 minutes, walk 5, run 8. The last time I did this workout, I could have finished it easily, but I just decided I was bored with running and stopped. I was nervous I’d do the same thing, but I powered through and finished.

Today’s workout said to run for 20 minutes with no walking. Is it me, or does it seem like a big jump from Tuesday’s workout to today’s? I went to the gym not expecting much, but managed to make it through the whole 20 minutes (okay, I stopped and stood on the sides for 20 seconds, but I made up those 20 seconds at the end). Woo! I took my pace down .4, so I ran just under 2 miles straight. I’m quite proud of myself. Tiger was, too. He told me I took another 20 seconds off my fastest mile). To be honest…I was a little disappointed that I didn’t run faster, but that’s okay. There’s plenty of time to build speed. Right now it’s all about endurance.

I’m still nervous about taking the running outside on the pavement. I have just under a month to get myself ready for the 5k. I hope that moving to pavement isn’t going to set me back too much.

In other news (and still kind of milestone-related), I’ve actually been feeling “skinny” this week. This is a pretty big statement for me. Even with 30 pounds lost, I’ve never thought of myself as skinny. So, to actually see it in the mirror meant a lot for my self esteem. Maybe Paul’s on to something with this whole “Wearing clothes that fit you makes you look better” thing. πŸ˜‰

One response »

Leave a Reply

