Tradition!

Standard

Every Good Friday for as long as I can remember, the Sullivans have maintained one tradition (adopted from the Spaldings): Salmon Loaf. I promise you its name does it no justice. Salmon loaf is salmon mixed with vegetables and shredded cheese baked inside crescent roll dough.  Ab.So.Lute.Ly delicious. Paul is not the biggest fan of this particular meal, but manages to get himself through it once a year (hey, Lent is a time to carry one’s crosses, after all). This year, we stayed in the ‘burbs for Easter and I was on my own with the traditional meal.

Well, it didn’t happen. I was on a week-long guilt trip after making several dishes that Paul really didn’t enjoy, and so I decided that I couldn’t continue making him unhappy with dinner. And so we started a new tradition. Today we decided to break fast with breakfast. For dinner. We whipped up some maple pecan waffles (thanks, William-Sonoma!) and veggie sausages.

I was not at all disappointed with dinner (brinner?), but I do miss the once-a-year salmon loaf. Until next year, my loafy friend.

Leave a Reply

