Thursday. I don’t have a better title.

Standard

The week has been going really well so far. I haven’t been too tempted to get off track, and I’ve managed to stay within my points every day. That’s a pretty big accomplishment considering all of the obstacles this week. I had a workshop all day today, and when it came time for lunch, I made sure I let my coworkers know that I was trying to eat healthier/lose weight and so would appreciate an option that would accommodate that. They, of course, were very obliging. We ended up going to Potbelly. Thankfully, they had their menu online with a handy nutrition planner that lets you customize your meal. I definitely recommend their Uptown Salad (mine was consumed sans walnuts, cheese and red onions and with fat free vinaigrette).

Not that this is exactly an obstacle, but Thursday nights are Paul’s bowling nights. I usually eat a little too much on Thursday nights…. I just sit around and nosh and inevitably feel disgusting by the end of the night. Tonight, though, I got home (late–I had an appointment with the chiro) and had an apple before a dinner of leftover sloppy joe’s and carrots. Next up: SF/FF vanilla pudding with some flaked coconut and fat free cool whip. Just like coconut cream pie!

Speaking of coconut…I’m a little obsessed with it lately. I’ve been putting a little bit in my oatmeal in the morning (overnight oats–easy and delicious!) and some in my pudding at night. Makes me want summer/tropical weather (is it time for Florida yet??)…and maybe a pina colada… 🙂

So, I mentioned that I went to the chiro today. There’s a group that comes to our school to do massages a couple times a year, and they always comment on my neck/shoulder tension. This time I decided I’d make an appointment. So, I went in today for a consultation and some tests. I’ll go back next week to go over the results. So far, though, things with my back don’t look terrible…. My neck and shoulders are a little tight and apparently I have some mild curvature to my spine. They also took a look at my knees. My knees are awful. My right knee usually aches. And if you’ve ever heard me stand from a crouching position, you know that they make a noise like velcro ripping apart. Kneeling on the floor for long periods of time is also terrible. It’s gotten progressively worse, to the point where I avoid getting pots and pans out of the lower cupboards in the kitchen. (I promise, I’m only 25). Anyway, the doctor was saying it looks like it’s muscular, not joint-related. So, that’s a plus. I just hope that they can do something to help. And getting rid of tension headaches would be awesome, too.

Okay, enough of the medical talk. Off to get my dessert ready and watch The Office! Happy Thursday!

Leave a Reply

