Active August: 8/15 – 8/21

Standard
  • Monday, 8/15: 30 minute jog/walk (Total: 30 min.)
  • Tuesday, 8/16: 15 minute OnDemand cardio kickboxing, 8 minute OnDemand abs workout (Total: 23 min.)
  • Wednesday, 8/17: 30 minute jog/walk (Total: 30 min.)
  • Thursday, 8/18: 30 minute walk (Total: 30 min.)
  • Friday, 8/19: 30 minute jog/walk (Total: 30 min.)
  • Saturday, 8/20: SELF Magazine toning circuits (Total: 20 min.)
  • Sunday, 8/21: 25 minute walk + 10 minutes of playing on playground equipment (Total: 35 min.)

  • Week’s Total: 198 min.
  • Month’s Total: 598 min.

Notes on the week…

I started Week 4 of Couch to 5k on Monday. I was nervous because the walking intervals were half the time of the running intervals (as opposed to Week 3, where the running/walking intervals were the same), but the running went really well, and I finished the run pretty easily each day. I’m still running suuuuuuper slowly, but that’s okay because running slowly is better than not running at all. And my pace is improving with each run, so at least I’m progressing.

Friday was my first day running in the afternoon (after work, around 4:30pm). It was UNPLEASANT. It was about 85 degrees, not a cloud in the sky. I never run with shorts on, because 1) They never have pockets–I need pockets for my key and my iPod, 2) They always ride up, 3) No one needs to see my thunder thighs, and 4) I don’t want to blind passing motorists with my legs that are the color of White Out. But, Friday afternoon, I put those shorts on, and boy am I glad I did. I was sweating buckets on my run. And despite telling myself I didn’t have to finish the last running interval because it was so hot, I did. And I was quite proud of myself. I was careful to listen to my body though, and knew that if I started to feel ill, to take it as a sign that I needed to stop and walk.

I had planned on running again Saturday, but it stormed right as I was about to head out. I waited for a while before finally deciding to just do some weights instead. Then, of course, after I finished my workout and showered/ate breakfast, it was a perfectly beautiful day.

Sunday, we spent the day with Paul’s family. I was trying to figure out when I’d get some activity in, but we ended up going for a walk around his grandparents’ neighborhood, and stopped at the neighborhood park and played on the playground equipment for a bit. Swinging on swings is not as fun when you have hips and the swings dig in….

Tomorrow, I start week 5 of C25k. I hope the weather is decent after work so I don’t melt again.

Leave a Reply

