Active August: 8/29 – 8/31

Standard
  • Monday, 8/29: 30 minute run/walk (Total: 30 min.)
  • Tuesday, 8/30: SELF Magazine toning circuits (Total: 20 min.)
  • Wednesday, 8/31: 45 minute run/walk (Total: 45 min.)
  • Week’s Total: 95 min.
  • Month’s Total: 888 min.
Yaaaaay I did it! đŸ™‚ (I’ve never been more excited to see August be over…).
Notes on the week…
I almost didn’t get Tuesday’s workout in. I had to stay at school for open house and didn’t make it home until 9:00. I thought about getting up at 4:45, but realized that was ridiculous. So, instead, I did weights at 9:30pm…rather begrudgingly, I might add. I thought about skipping it, but knew I’d be so mad at myself if I made it all the way to August 30th and then skipped a day. So I powered through.
Today’s run was noooot good. It was so hot out. I ran with my coworker at Lake Arlington and I definitely had to cut the second running interval short. I was hot, I had a stitch in my side, and my legs were aching. I don’t really remember being short of breath, though, so that’s good. So there was a lot of walking involved, but that’s okay. On the bright side, I was keeping a faster pace during my running intervals today (which was probably part of the problem), so that gives me some hope. I’ll definitely be repeating this week’s workouts (or maybe just today) next week just to feel more comfortable.
I haven’t checked my measurements yet. I’m going to wait until Saturday to do that, since that’s my weigh in day anyway.
So, now, on to September…. I’ve given a lot of thought to whether or not I want to continue this challenge, and I really do (though “Sloth September,” and “Sedentary September” sounded mighty tempting). I’ll admit, though, that the everyday thing was a bit much, and really difficult some days. Sundays were especially hard because we go to church in the mornings, then have grocery shopping and errands, and I usually have school work. So, I’ve decided on…
SIX-DAY-SEPTEMBER
In September, I’m giving myself a rest day. It’ll probably end up being Sunday most weeks, but if I have another night at work where I’m there until 9, I can always switch. It’s all about flexibility. I’m going to try to keep my average at 195 minutes/week, though, so I’ll up my daily activity a little bit. I’ll keep tracking my measurements. I really have noticed a change this month, even though I don’t know if/how much the numbers changed.
2 responses »

  1. I love the idea of Sloth September! I have been getting out quite a bit now that I’m home full-time. Not really setting a goal, but I’m enjoying the extra time for walks and bike rides.

  2. Pingback: Running is easier when you aren’t surrounded by dead fish… « Fear Only Keeps Me Back

Leave a Reply

