Cocoa Beano 5k Recap

Standard

Paul and I ran the Lagomarcino’s Cocoa Beano 5k this past Saturday. My brother ran it, too, and his (9-month pregnant) wife and her sister walked it.

The race was definitely much bigger than the Pumpkin Stampede. There were ~2500 people, vs. the 97 at PS. The course was beautiful, and I wish I hadn’t been so aggravated so I could have enjoyed it more. My problem is that the walkers all lined up at the front, stayed in the middle of the road the whole time, and frequently walked 2-4 people across. This wasn’t so terrible while we were on the street, but for part of the race, we were on a narrow trail in the woods. It was impossible to maneuver around them. At one point, I tried to pass a woman who was running while holding hands with her 7-year-old daughter while turning around to talk to the person behind her, and I just about slid down the slope into the river. Not a happy camper. Or runner.

I finished in just over 34 minutes (chip time), so it was definitely a little slower than the last race, but considering how frequently I was trying to dodge and weave around other people, I think I probably would have done a bit better. Oh well, there’s always next time.

Next up: Davenport Turkey Trot. Who’s with me?

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

