See what happens when I try to be fit?

Standard

Dang it. I had my race schedule for the spring all planned out.

3/11: St. Patrick’s Day 5k, either in McHenry or in Long Grove

OR

3/17: St. Patrick’s Day 5k in the QC

4/22: Arbor Day 10k at the Morton Arboretum

Having that 10k on the list was really motivating for me. I was excited to train for something new. And then today, my brother called and said my nephew’s baptism is 4/21. BAH. Don’t get me wrong, I would much rather be present for the baptism. Nothing would keep me from being there. But there are NO OTHER 10k races in April. Seriously?! I couldn’t find anything in the QC or in Chicago. My next option would be the QC Firecracker 5k/10k on July 4. Looks like that’s what I’ll have to do. And in the end, maybe that’s for the best. It’ll give me more time to work up to the mileage, and it’ll ensure that I’m in shape for the Bix on 7/28. Oh so frustrating!

6 responses »

    • I’m still deciding, but if I do a race on 3/11, it’ll most likely be that one. I get a feeling that the one in McHenry is poorly organized….

Leave a Reply

